Home News “Who is Who” awards Set To Make Debut In FCT

“Who is Who” awards Set To Make Debut In FCT


By Joshua Olomu

Abuja,   –    The Abuja edition of the annual  “Who is Who ” awards to hold in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) in December is aimed at recognizing residents who have affected lives and the society.

Mr Daniel Okpanachi, the Chairman of the Organising committee of the award said this at a press conference in Abuja on Wednesday at the NAF Conference Center.

According to Okpanachi, the special maiden Abuja edition is to recognize residents of the FCT who through their respective endeavours have touched lives and society positively.

“The time has finally come to find out and honour ‘Who is Who’ in the FCT, and we are determined to recognize unsung heroes.

“The award group is in search of those who spend sleepless nights for others to be comfortable, those who live a life of self-sacrifice and are silently working hard to make life comfortable for others.

“We believe that by awarding the best, we would have encouraged the rest to raise their products quality and service delivery to humanity,” he said.

Okpanachi said that unlike many other awards that recognized only top political and corporate leaders in society, the ‘Who is Who’ seeks to honour Nigerians of all class and status.

“We shall recognize, empower and publicise mechanics, carpenters, caterers and other unsung heroes in Abuja.”

He explained that the awards, which cuts across over 50 categories, include Best Carpenter, Best Mechanics, Best Restaurant, Best Radio Station, Best Hospital and  Best Orpanage Home in the FCT.

Others include Best Lawyer, Best Doctor, Best Past FCT Minister, Best Shopping Mall and Best Construction Firm.

Okpanchi said that the ‘Who is Who Awards’ was a non-political and had no intentions of giving awards for monetary benefits.

He therefore urged members of the public, especially those in the FCT to vote online (www.whoiswhoawards.org) for their choice nominee.

“We want residents of the FCT to present to us their nominees while we  honour them.”

NAN reports that the “Who is Who Awards”, which started in 2003 is an initiative aimed at identifying and  celebrating Nigerians from home and the Diaspora, who have contributed meaningfully to development of society.

It honours men and women from all works of life, who have used their callings and positions to promote a better society with recepients being nominated by ordinary Nigerians through voting.

Since inception, the awards ceremony has been moved from one state to the another, and the Federal Capital Territory will host it for the first time.

Previous articleEdo Assembly Fracas Political Hooliganism, Barbarism – Oba of Benin Blasts Lawmakers
Next articleOsinbajo Urges Media Chiefs To Project Nigeria in IPI Congress, Tackle Hate Speech

Leave a Reply