Home Sports Gumel, Ndanusa fight it out as NOC exco elections hold in Asaba

Gumel, Ndanusa fight it out as NOC exco elections hold in Asaba


ASABA – The Nigeria Olympic Committee (NOC) has cleared 16 aspirants to seek election into its executive committee from Wednesday to Thursday in Asaba.

The elections have been scheduled to hold at the Hotels and Events Centre, Asaba during NOC’s Annual General Meeting (AGM)/Elective Congress.

A statement by the committee’s Public Relations Officer (PRO), Tony Ubani, said the incumbent President, Sani Ndanusa, would face opposition from a former President and an IOC member, Habu Gumel.

It said a screening committee made up of Ibrahim Galadima, Mrs Kofo Nwokedi and Maj.-Gen. Adamu Dyeri gave the contestants the nod to battle it out for eight executive positions.

The incumbent secretary, Tunde Popoola, would contest against a former secretary, Olabanji Oladapo, who is an Executive Secretary, Africa Table Tennis Federation (ATTF).

President of the Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN), Solomon Ogba, would contest the position of First Vice-President, where he is unopposed.

The following is the list of cleared candidates for the election:


1. Sani Ndanusa

2. Habu Gumel

1st Vice-President

1. Solomon Ogba

2nd Vice-President

1. Babatunde Fatai-Williams

3rd Vice-President

1. Tijani Umar

2. Olayinka Badare


1. Tunde Popoola

2. Olabanji Oladapo

Deputy Secretary-General

1. Johnny Hamakin

2. Enefiok Udo-Obong

3. George Ashiru

4. Dans Adokiye


1. Bappa Aliyu

2. Olatunji Makanju

Public Relations Officer

1. Tony Ubani

2. Comfort Nwankwo (NAN)

Previous articleFrance warns against travel to Mali over Ebola risk
Next articleFG plans retreat on enhancing human security

Leave a Reply