2019: INEC Publishes Forms, Particulars Of Parties’ Candidates

Whatsapp News

By Emmanuel Oloniruha


Abuja    –     The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Thursday began nationwide publication of forms and particulars of parties’ candidates submitted for 2019 general elections for claims and objections.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that in Abuja, the documents were displayed at INEC’s office in the Federal Capital Territory.

NAN reports that the number of the candidates could not be ascertained as the commission still photocopying and pasting the forms and particulars in batches as at 8.20 p.m.

A senior officer of the commission said what the commission did publication of forms and particulars for objection, and not lists of the candidates.

The sources said that list of the candidates would be published on Jan. 17, 2019 as stipulated in the elections’ timetable.

Another sources said that the number of political that submitted forms for election was more than 70.

The particulars of the candidates already pasted included President Muhammadu Buhari of the All Congress (APC) and that of the Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo.

Also published were particulars of Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, the candidate of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and that of his running mate, Mr Peter Obi.

Others include Dr Obadiah Mailafia candidate of African Democratic Congress (ADC) and Prof. Tanimowo Nasiru as running mate.

Also on the list was Donald Duke for the Social Democratic Party and Junaid Mohammad as running mate.

Also pasted was the particulars of 22 candidates for one FCT Senatorial District seat and 24
candidates for two FCT House of Representatives seats.

Those contesting for the Senate include Sen. Zaphaniah Jisalo, APC; Sen. Philip Aduda, PDP; Esther Audu, ADC; and Eric lbe, Social Democratic Party.

Those for the House of Representatives (AMAC-Bwari) are Lamorde Hallilu, APC; Micah Jiba, PDP; and Ene Idoko-Abel, ADC.