Home Education ASUU Strike: Sokoto Assembly constitutes committee to contact state-owned institutions

ASUU Strike: Sokoto Assembly constitutes committee to contact state-owned institutions



SOKOTO- The Sokoto State House of Assembly had constituted a 9-member committee to look into the ongoing strike by the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) in the state.

The committee, according to the Deputy Speaker, Alhaji Abubakar Magaji, who presided over the plenary sitting of the Assembly on Tuesday, is to be led by the Majority Leader, Alhaji Malami Basakkwace.

Magaji said that the committee was mandated with the responsibility to contact the management of the Sokoto state University and the ASUU chapter domiciled in the state-owned insitution.

“This is in order to find a lasting solution to the prolonged  strike action by ASUU, which remains a greater threat to our educational system,” he said.

The lawmaker listed other members of the committee to include, Bello Ambarura, the minority leader, Bello Idris (APC- Gwadabawa North), Sule Romo (PDP– Tambuwal West) and Maidawa Kajiji (APC- Shagari).

Others are, Buhari Haliru (PDP- Sokoto North I), Tukur Bala (APC- Bodinga South), Abubakar Yabo (APC- Yabo) and Atiku Liman (PDP- Silame), while Garba Sani, the Deputy Director Legislative Services will serve as its Secretary.

In another development, the assembly had adopted a matter of urgent public importance, calling on the state government and other relevant stakeholders to support victims of flooding in Kebbe local government area of the state.

The mover of the motion, Alhaji Abubakar Adamu (PDP- Kebbe), said a heavy rainfall occurred on Saturday, which resulted in flooding that submerged houses and destroyed food items.

“This incident led to the loss of properties and farmlands worth millions of naira in Umbutu village of Kebbe LGA,” he said.

The assembly, thereafter, called on the state government, relevant government agencies, donor agencies and well-to-do individuals to come to the aid of the victims.

Meanwhile, the assembly had approved the request of Gov. Aminu Tambuwal, to appoint 11 new Special Advisers for the state government. (NAN) 

Previous articleI’ll bequeath strong political institutions via non-interference in elections–Buhari
Next article2023 : APC LG chairman cautions members against anti-party activities

Leave a Reply