Bayelsa deputy gov heads committee on land encroachment

Spread the love

YENAGOA – The Bayelsa State Government has constituted a high-powered committee to address incessant cases of encroachment on government land in the state.

Whatapp NewsTelegram News

This is contained in a statement by Mr Daniel Iworiso-Markson, the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, and made available to newsmen in Yenagoa on Friday.

The statement said the committee, which has the state Deputy Governor, Rear Adm. Gboribiogha Jonah (rtd) as Chairman, was expected to conclude its assignment in 30 days.

It also said that the Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr Kemasuode Wodu, would serve as the Vice-Chairman of the committee.

It said the terms of reference of the committee included the collation and identification of all lands acquired by the government. [eap_ad_1] The committee is also asked to ascertain whether all relevant processes of acquisition as stipulated by law had been complied with.

It is expected to ensure that, in cases where there is no compliance in the acquisition of the land, the committee will take steps to ensure compliance.

The statement said that the government was serious about the increasing cases of encroachment on lands already acquired by the government.

Mr Furoebi Akene, the Commissioner for Lands and Survey and Secretary of the committee, was quoted as saying that the government would take  immediate steps to recover any land that had been encroached upon.

It said Akene rued the attitude of some families and communities, who, after agreeing on terms with the government and even received compensation, reneged and sold such land to unsuspecting buyers.

The statement listed other members of the land committee as the Commissioner for Information and Orientation, Mr Markson Fefegha, his Housing and Works counterparts and the Managing Director, Bayelsa Geographic Information System.

The list also includes the Deputy Group Managing Director of Bayelsa Development and Investment Corporation, Surveyor-General of the State, Director  of lands in the Ministry of Lands and Survey and the Executive Secretary, Capital City Development Authority. (NAN)


Spread the love