Home Sports CAF reduces POTY award nominees to five

CAF reduces POTY award nominees to five

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has cut its nominees for its Player of the Year awards down to five.
Last month CAF announced an initial list of 25 names for its main 2014 African Player of the Year award.
Ivory Coast and Manchester City’s Yaya Toure is in the running for fourth straight title.
There was also a provisional list of 20 names for the 2014 African Player of the Year for those based in Africa.
The late South Africa goalkeeper Senzo Meyiwa is among the final five for that award.
The winners of the two categories will be decided by votes from the head coaches or technical directors of the national football associations affiliated to Caf.
Both awards will be handed out at a gala ahead of the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations finals on 8 January in Lagos, Nigeria.
The nominees are:
African Player of the Year:
  • Ahmed Musa (Nigeria & CSKA Moscow, Russia)
  • Asamoah Gyan (Ghana & Al Ain, UAE)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund, Germany)
  • Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria & Lille, France)
  • Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast & Manchester City, England)
For the African Player of the Year – Based in Africa:
  • Akram Djahnit (Algeria & Entente Setif)
  • El Hedi Belamieri (Algeria & Entente Setif)
  • Fakhreddine Ben Youssef (Tunisia & CS Sfaxien)
  • Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo & AS Vita Club)
  • Senzo Robert Meyiwa (South Africa & Orlando Pirates)   (BBC Sport)

Previous articleBalotelli apologises over Instagram post
Next articleBrahimi wins BBC African Footballer of the Year

Leave a Reply