Edo Assembly Crisis Deepens As Obaseki Sacks Oshiomhole’s Nephew, 7 Commissioners

Whatapp News

The gulf between Comrade Adams Oshiomhole and Governor Godwin Obaseki appeared deepened following the sack of eight Commissioners in the State Executive Council.

Obaseki sacked the commissioners after he returned from Abuja.

He appointed immediate past Speaker of the Edo State House of Assembly, Kabiru Adjoto as Special Adviser.

Those sacked include: Commissioner for Youths and Special Duties Mika Amanokha who is also Oshiomhole’s nephew; Commissioner for Energy and Water Resources Joseph Ugheoke; Commissioner for Women Affairs and Social Development Magdalene Ohenhen and Commissioner for Infrastructure Engr. Osahon Amiolemen.

Others are Commissioner for Health Dr. David Osifo; Commissioner for Budget Mariam Abubakar; Commissioner for Wealth Creation, Cooperatives and Employment Barr. Emmanuel Usoh; Commissioner for Science and Technology. Dr. Christopher Adesotu.

A statement signed by Secretary to the State Government, Osarodion Ogie reads in parts, “The following persons have been nominated for appointment as commissioners: Damian Lawani; Joe Ikpea; Felix Akhabue; Moses Agbakor; Momoh Oise Omorogbe and Marie Edeko.

“The  state government offers its immense gratitude to the outgoing commissioners for their service and assures of continued cordial relations in the years ahead, while congratulating the newly appointed commissioners and special advisers, urging them to serve the people with integrity,” the statement said.

The statement advised the outgoing commissioners to handover all government property in their possession to the Permanent Secretaries in their ministries and wished them well in their future endeavours.

Others appointed Special Advisers are Magdalene Ohenhen; Osaigbovo Iyoha; Andrew Momodu and Ojo Asien. (The Nation)