Home Sports 13 states, 62 players feature in Asaph Zadok National Scrabble Championship in...

13 states, 62 players feature in Asaph Zadok National Scrabble Championship in Abuja


Abuja  –  The 2016 Asaph Zadok National Scrabble Championship opened on Friday in Abuja with 62 players from 13 states participating, with the overall winner expected to win N150,000.

Faruq Baba-Inna, the Chairman, Technical Committee of Nigeria Scrabble Federation (NSF), told the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Friday that all arrangements for a smooth championship were in place.

“The National Championship, which was last held in 2013, is one of our flagship tournaments and the inter-club champions.

“At this championship, we have 62 players who will play 24 games, at the end of which a national champion will emerge for 2016.

“The players are on state representation, with the clubs coming together to have a selection process. So, each state is fielding a maximum of six players.

“We have about 13 states of the federation, cutting across the six geo-political zones, represented.

“We have Adamawa for the North-East, FCT for the North-Central, Kano State for the North-West, Rivers for South-South, Bayelsa for South-South and Lagos State for South-West.

“Furthermore, we have Oyo State from the South-West and, from the South-East also, we have Abia and Imo,’’ he said.

Baba-Inna said they would by Sunday have a national champion who would be decorated with the Green jersey, a trophy and a cash prize of N150,000.

“The first runner-up will have N100,000, while the second runner-up will have N50,000.

“We are also hoping to get the best state and, for the best state to emerge, all six players representing the state must feature among the top ones,’’ he said.

The NSF official said of the 62 players, the best state must have its six players among the first five, second five and third five.

He said at the end of the day, the state with the highest number of points would get a trophy and a N100,000 cash prize.

NAN reports that at the end of the second round of games on Friday the opening day of competition, Olatunde Oduwole led the score table with a win and 314 points.

He was followed by Igali Precious with a win and 247 points.

NAN also reports that the competition holding at the Abuja National Stadium will end on Sunday.(NAN)

Previous articleCustoms incorporate EFCC, ICPC, Shippers’ Council in auction exercise
Next articleWater supply to Kubwa to be cut off Saturday, says Minister

Leave a Reply