Home Sports 2016 Aso Table Tennis championship: Taraba, Ekiti emerge champions

2016 Aso Table Tennis championship: Taraba, Ekiti emerge champions


ABUJA – Taraba and Ekiti states on Saturday emerged champions of the men and women’s singles at the 2016 Aso Table Tennis Naional Championship respectively.
The four-day tournament at the Abuja National Stadium saw Seun Ajetunmobi of Taraba winning Onaolapo Ojo of Ondo 4-0 in the Men’s Singles to become champion with a cash award of N200,000.
Onaolapo Ojo came second with a cash award of N100,000 while Olajide Omotayo and Makanjuola Kazeem both of Taraba came third and fourth with a cash of N50,000 and N45,000 respectively.
In the Women’s Singles, Esther Oribamishe of Ekiti defeated Bose Odusanya of Lagos state 4-0 to become champion with a cash of N200, 000.
Odusanya came second with a cash of N100,000 while Fatima Kazeem of Rivers state and Toyin Jimoh came third and fourth with a cash of N50,000 and N45,000.
In the Junior Boys singles, Amadi Omeh of Ondo defeated Olayinka Oladipupo of Rivers state 4-2 to become the winner with a cash of award of N50,000 and N30,000 respectively.
For the Junior Girls singles, Esther Oribamishe of Ekiti state defeated Nimota Aregbesola of Lagos state 4-2 to win the title with cash of N50, 000 and N30, 000 respectively.
The Cadet Girls was an all Kwara affairs as the state won all the prizes with Iyanuoluwa Falana defeating Sukurat Aiyelabegan 4-2 to win the first prize of N40,000.
The veterans were not left out as Onyeka Ogbu defeated Olu Akerele 3-2 to win a water dispenser.
Declaring the 12 edition of the championship closed, the Chairman, Aso Table Tennis Club, Dr Olusegun Ajuwon said the tournament was to develop young players that would fly the country’s flag.
Ajuwon said that 100 dollars was added to each of the champions in various categories to encourage them do more in the next tournament.
“Since we did not have more sponsors this year, we had to maintain the prize money for last year, but with an addition of a 100 dollars for the champions across board,’’ he said.
Ojo, winner of the Men’s Single thanked God for the victory, adding that he won because he was able to study the play pattern of his opponent. (NAN)

Previous articleDickson signs Appropriation, Child Rights Bills; commends State Assembly
Next articleRotary’s 4-Way Test desired for national change – Dogara

Leave a Reply