Home News 5 docked over membership of secret cult

5 docked over membership of secret cult


LAGOS – Five suspected secret cult members on Monday appeared before an Ebute Meta Chief Magistrates’ Court in Lagos on a three-count charge.

The accused are Badmus Olawale, 25; Adedayo Joke, 22; Yusuf Ismail, 26; Salisu Anwal, 28; and Michael Akponue, 25.

They were charged with breach of the peace, belonging to unlawful society and display of dangerous weapons.

According to the prosecutor, Sgt. Cousin Adams, the accused committed the crimes on Oct.6 at 9.00p.m. at Maidon Area, Mile 12, Lagos.

Adams said that the accused conspired with others now at large to commit the offences.

He said that the accused belonged to an unlawful society known as “Eiye confraternity”.

Adams said that the offences contravened Sections 42, 166 and 410 of the Criminal Law of Lagos State, 2011.

The accused, however, pleaded not guilty.

The Magistrate, Mr K.O. Ogundare, granted each of them bail in the sum of N100, 000 with two sureties in like sum.

He adjourned the case till Nov. 26 for further hearing. (NAN)

Previous articleImo: APGA candidate pays N12m for governorship form
Next articleSuper Eagles to train in Warri ahead of Congo match

Leave a Reply