Home Top Stories Abdullahi Adamu fumes, Says NASS Principal Officers Announced By Akpabio, Abbas Not...

Abdullahi Adamu fumes, Says NASS Principal Officers Announced By Akpabio, Abbas Not From APC


By Chibuike Nwabuko

Abuja (Sundiata Post) – The Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Abdullahi Adamu, says the list of principal officers for the 10th National Assembly announced on Tuesday by Senate President, Godswill Akpabio; and House of Representatives’ Speaker, Tajudeen Abbas is not from the party’s secretariat.

Meanwhile, Uzodimma said the party will address the “communication gap” between the four most senior NASS leaders and the APC.

The Imo governor said being that Akpabio and Abass are members of the APC, the party will activate its internal mechanism to resolve the matter.

Earlier, Akpabio announced Senator Opeyemi Bamidele from Ekiti State as Senate Leader, Senator Dave Umahi from Ebonyi State as Deputy Senate Leader, Senator Ali Ndume from Borno State as Chief Whip, and Senator Lola Ashiru from Kwara State as Deputy Chief Whip.

Akpabio also announced the names of minority principal officers.

They are Senator Simon Davou (Plateau North – PDP, Minority Leader), Oyewunmi Olarere (Osun West – PDP, Deputy Minority Leader), Darlington Nwokeocha (Abia Central – LP, Minority Whip), Rufai Hanga (Kano Central – NNPP, Deputy Minority Whip).

In a similar fashion, Abbas announced Julius Ihonvbere (APC – Edo) as House Majority Leader, Halims Abdullahi (APC – Kogi) as Deputy Majority Leader, Bello Kumo (APC – Gombe) as Chief Whip, and Adewunmi Onanuga (APC – Ogun) as Deputy Chief Whip).

Previous articleCBN launches sensitisation fair in Gombe, warns against Naira abuse
Next articleAlleged N1bn fraud: Court remands ex-Kano State works commissioner

Leave a Reply