Home News Ajimobi sends list of commissioner-nominees to Assembly

Ajimobi sends list of commissioner-nominees to Assembly


Ibadan –  More than one year after he was sworn in for a second term, Gov. Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State on Wednesday submitted a list of 15 commissioner-nominees to the state House of Assembly for scrutiny and approval.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the names of the 15 Commissioner- nominees and eight members of the Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) were unveiled during plenary.

NAN reports that among the 15 nominees for commissioner posts were four former commissioners.

They are Abimbola Kolade, Ajiboye Omodewu, Atinuke Osinkoya and Wasiu Dauda.

Also on the list were Mr Abimbola Adekanmbi, former Deputy Chief of Staff, Mr Abayomi Oke, former Special Adviser on Environment and Mr Toye Arulogun, a former Special Adviser on Public Affairs during Ajimobi’s first term.

Others were Taibi Adaba, Isaac Ishola, AbdulGaniy Mudashiru, Oluwaseun Abimbola and Dr Azeez Adeduntan, a former PDP governorship aspirant as well as two former Caretaker Chairmen– Prof. Niyi Olowofela and Mr Fatai Salawu.

NAN reports that in the OYSIEC list sent to the house were Mr Adewole Ajeigbe, Chairman; and seven other members.

They are Sunday Aborisade, Adedeji Raimi, David Adeagbo, Bello Lateef, Omolola Odekunbi, AbdulRazaq Akuru and Rasheed Oyekanmi.

The Speaker of the House, Mr Michael Adeyemo, called on all the nominees to submit the photocopies of their Curriculum Vitae to the Clerk on or before Thursday.

Adeyemo said that the screening of the nominees would start next week.

The governor had on Nov. 28, 2015 constituted a three-man communication team which included Mr Yomi Layinka as the Special Adviser on Communication and Strategy to the Governor.

Also on the team are Mr Akin Oyedele, Senior Special Assistant on Print and Broadcast, and Mr Femi Ipadeola, Senior Special Assistant on Public Affairs.

Ajimobi had also inaugurated the Caretaker Chairmen for the 33 local government councils in the state on Feb. 4 while he appointed 12 aides on May 19.

Among them were Dr Gbade Ojo, who was named Chief of Staff, and Dr Muyiwa Gbadegesin, Deputy Chief of Staff. (NAN)

Previous articleLagos MoE casual workers protest non-payment of 5 months salaries
Next articleChinese teenager found in airliner luggage hold at Dubai airport

Leave a Reply