Anambra Federation Cup final to hold on Saturday — Committee

Whatsapp News

Awka – The 2015 edition of the Neros Pharmaceutical /Anambra Cup final would hold Saturday, Iloegbune Okoye, Chairman, Anambra State Football (ASFA) Normalisation Committee said on Tuesday.

Okoye made the disclosure in an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Awka.

NAN reports that the Nigerian Football Association (NFA) on Monday inaugurated a seven-man normalisation committee to pilot the affairs of the ASFA for three months.

The chairman said this was in line with the mandate of the committee to ensure the state sent in two finalists which would feature in the national finals of the competition.

He said the four finalists the two factions of the ASFA would be collapsed into and be made to play semi-finals after a draw to produce the actual finalists.

NAN recalls that the NFA had on April 6 suspended the final of ASFA Federation Cup.[pro_ad_display_adzone id=”10″]

The suspension was because the two FA factions were organising separate versions of the competition in the state following the leadership crisis that had rocked the association.

“We have started in earnest; our immediate task is to provide the two clubs that will represent Anambra at the national level.

“The four clubs that are to play in the two factional finals will be subjected to chance draws.

“They will then play semi-finals and final of the Neros Pharmaceutical sponsored Anambra Federation Cup.

“And from there our national will emerge and we have between now and Saturday to achieve that,’’ he said.

The setting up of the committee was to peace to ASFA which has been crisis-ridden following factionalisation by Mike Umeh the chairman and Jude Obikwelu the deputy.

The four finalists are Ifeanyi Ubah FC of Nnewi and Ikpeazu Redoubtable of Onitsha from the Umeh-led faction and Smithcity FC of Awka and Cardinal FC of Onitsha of the Obikwelu faction.

On the conduct of the elections, Okoye said that eligibility of the candidates would be based on the letters of NFA provisions for elections.


You may also like:

Ibile Games: A Giant Stride by Lagos State in Sports Development

Other members of the committee are Okey Abazu, Chike Ononye, Uzo Epudu and Patrick

Onyedika Chijioke Secretary of the Anambra State FA is serving serving as Secretary to the Committee. (NAN)