AnambraDecides: Soludo leads after 21 local govts but election may be declared inconclusive

Whatsapp News

Abuja – Prof Chukwuma Soludo, the candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), has secured the majority of the votes cast in Saturday’s Anambra governorship election.

The results of the election were formally announced at the INEC state collation centre in Awka, Anambra State, on Sunday.

Mr Soludo may, however, not be declared the winner of the election yet due to the technicalities with the figures.

The APGA candidate won in 17 of the 21 local government areas of the state. One local government was won by the PDP candidate (Valentine Ozigbo) while the candidate of the YPP, Ifeanyi Ubah, also won in one local government.

However, the collation officers for two local government areas (Ihiala and Orumba North) said at the INEC collation centre that elections did not hold in their local governments.

While Mr Soludo leads his closest challenger, Mr Ozigbo, with over 45,000 votes, Ihiala local government alone has over 148,000 registered voters.

The election may thus be declared inconclusive to allow for rerun elections in the two affected local governments and other polling units where elections did not hold.

INEC is, however, still reviewing the situation and has not taken a position.

Read our detailed results from each local government here.

Anambra West LGA

APC 1233

APGA 1918

PDP 1401

Ayamelum LGA

APC: 2409

APGA: 3424

PDP: 2804

APC: 2830
APGA: 6133
PDP: 2484

Idemili North LGA

APC 2291

APGA 5358

PDP 2312

Ekwusigo LGA

APC 1237

APGA 2570.

PDP. 1857

Orumba North LGA

APC: 2692
APGA: 4826
PDP: 1863

Aguata LGA

APC: 4773

APGA: 9,136

PDP: 3798

Njikoka LGA

APC – 3216

APGA – 8803

PDP – 3409

Orumba South LGA

APC: 2,060
APGA: 4394
PDP: 1672

Nnewi South LGA

APC 1307
APGA 3243

PDP 2226

Nnewi North LGA
APC: 1278
APGA: 3369
PDP: 1511

Awka South LGA
APC – 2595
APGA – 12891
PDP – 5489

Onitsha South LGA

APC – 2050
APGA – 4281
PDP – 2253

Anambra East LGA

APC 2034
APGA: 9746
PDP: 1380
Anaocha LGA

APC – 2085
APGA – 6911
PDP – 5,108

Onitsha North LGA

APC – 3909

APGA – 5587

PDP – 3781

Ogbaru LGA
APC 1178
APGA 3051
PDP 3445

Dunukofia LGA

APC – 1991
APGA – 4124

PDP – 1680•