Impeachment: 9 lawmakers beg Ondo CJ

Whatsapp News

Nine lawmakers in the Ondo House of have asked the Ondo Chief Judge, Justice Olarenwaju Akeredolu, uphold section 188 of the Nigeria in the ongoing move impeach Deputy Hon Agboola Ajayi.

The nine lawmakers are those against the impeachment move against Hon Ajayi grounds that due process not followed.

They are Iroju Ogundeji, Jamiu Suleiman Maito, Rasheed Elegbeleye, Tomide Akinrinbodo, Samuel Ademola, Favour Semilore Tomomewo, Festus Akingbaso, Adewale Adekunle and Torhukerhijo Success.

In an open letter, the lawmakers said they were notifying the Chief Judge based by the leadership of the House suspend some of them in order carry out the impeachment

According to the letter: “We to and confirm to your good office that we maintain our stand by dissociating ourselves from the impeachment process.

“We are not in of the impeachment based our individual personal conviction.

“We are rest assured that your Lordship uphold Section 188 of the 1999 of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended) particularly Section 188 (3) (4) (5) – (11).

“It is equally worthy of note that the total membership of Ondo House of is 26 in which 2/3 is 18 and this remains the constitutionally required number irrespective of any arbitrary suspension.

“ We are writing to call your attention to the fact that all or some of who are signatories to this letter be suspended in order to circumvent the provision of the of Nigeria, which we all swore to uphold and protect, including your honourable Lordship , as this be contrary to the laws of the land”.

The Nation