INEC commissioner Nahuche resigns, Amina Zakari 4 others retire

Whatsapp News

The Independent Electoral Commission on Monday, November 9, 2020, confirmed the resignation a Commissioner, Abubakar Nahuche.

resignation came barely a few minutes after the INEC chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, handed over to Air Vice Marshall Ahmed Mu’azu (retd.), to oversee the affairs the commission pending the confirmation reappointment by the Senate.

INEC Commissioner and Chairman (Information and Voter Education Committee), Festus Okoye, confirmed the resignation in a message.

He said, “INEC National Commissioner and chairman, Estate, Works and Committee, representing North-West, Abubakar Nahuche, resigned appointment on personal reasons and the President has accepted resignation and thanked him for services to the nation.”

A PUNCH report noted five National Commissioners also retired during the handover ceremony held at the Rome at INEC Headquarters, Abuja.

They are Hajiya Amina Zakari, Prof. Antonia Taiye Okoosi-Simbine, Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo, Dr. Mohammed Mustafa Lecky, and Prince Adedeji Solomon Soyebi.

Meanwhile, a new Electoral Commissioner, Dr. Chukwuemeka Chukwu, representing Abia State, was appointed at the event.

Until appointment, the REC deployed to State, was a lecturer at the University Nigerian, Nsukka.

Since the onset of the system of 41 years ago in 1979, Nigeria has had nine chairmen of the electoral umpire under different names, including the Federal Electoral Commission popularly known as FEDECO; National Electoral Commission; National Electoral Commission of Nigeria and INEC in succession.

The chairmen were Michael Ani; Victor Ovie-Whiskey; Eme Awa; Humphrey Nwosu; Ephraim Akpata; Abel Guobadia; Maurice Iwu; Attahiru Jega, and Mahmood Yakubu.

During his brief , AVM Mu’azu said he has accepted the reposed on him and would his duties due diligence.
(The Punch)