Malaysia to host Asian Champions League’s East Asia matches

Kuala Lumpur – Malaysia has been named the Asian Champions League’s centralised hub in East Asia, the continent’s football governing body said on Monday.

Whatapp NewsTelegram News

The matches in the region are now due to restart in October.

Asia’s elite club competition was suspended in early March because of the COVID-19 pandemic and will resume in West Asia hub Qatar on Sept. 14.

Malaysia will host Group G and Group H matches from Oct. 17 to Nov. 1 and a semi-final on Nov. 28.

It will also host the last 16 stage games from the two groups on Nov. 4 and two quarter-finals on Nov. 25.

Teams from China, Australia, South Korea, Japan and Malaysia will play in the East Asia regional hub.

Teams from Qatar, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Saudi Arabia, Iraq, Iran and Uzbekistan will play in the West Asia hub.

The centralised venue for Groups E and F and the remaining knockout stage matches have not yet been confirmed.

The AFC had said this month that group games would be played in full in a round-robin format.

It added that the knockout rounds will be reduced to single games from the usual two-legged tie format.

The finals, pitting the best teams from each region, will be held on Dec. 5 in the Western hub.


Spread the love

Whatapp News

Telegram News