Home Sports NBBF Division One Championship: Civil Defence thrash Benue Braves 96-69

NBBF Division One Championship: Civil Defence thrash Benue Braves 96-69


ABUJA – Civil Defence Basketball team, on Saturday, secured the ticket for the final at the ongoing National Men’s Basketball Division One Championship in Abuja after defeating Benue Braves 96-69.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Civil Defence lost only one match since the championship started on Monday, losing to FCT Rocks 73-76.

It is the fourth win for the Civil Defence side after beating Kano Pyramids 81-57, crushing APA Flames 90-60 and defeating Dashion Mambas 85-71 in their previous matches.

In Saturday’s game, Civil Defence took control of the game by leading in all the quarters, winning the first 19-18, the second 29-18, the third 30-21 and the last 22-12.

At the end of the match, Olusegun Ayodele, Deputy Commandant of Civil Defence, was in triumphant mood, praising his players and expressing confidence that they would keep up the energy.

He said “we lost only one match since the beginning of this tournament; we just won our fourth game now.

“We are qualified for the final tomorrow and I believe that by God, we will triumph.’’

On his part, Manasseh Akeranna, Coach of Benue Braves, said it was a tough game.

He said “we tried our best in the game, but we ended up losing the match because we missed a lot of shots.

“The Civil Defence team was more prepared and it worked out for them. This is our fifth game, we have only won three and lost two; so, we are out.

“We are going to prepare better and fight harder in the next tournament.’’

In other matches at the championship on Saturday, Delta Force beat T. Joba Talents
70-53 and Kano Pyramids defeated APA Flames 68-67.

Hoop & Read also crushed 87-43, while Base Hawks lost to O.S Lion 63-65.

NAN reports that 12 teams from both the Savannah and Atlantic Conferences are participating in the championship.

FCT Rocks, APA Flames, Civil Defence, Dashion Mambas, Benue Braves and Kano Pyramids are from the Savannah Conference.

Delta Force, Base Hawks, O.S Lion, Raptors, Hoops and Read, and T.Joba Talents are in the Atlantic Conference.

The top team from each conference will be promoted to the 2015 DSTV Premier League.

The championship, which will end on Sunday, is holding at the Indoor Sports Hall of the Abuja National Stadium, and is organised by the Nigeria Basketball Federation. (NAN)

Previous articleSquash classics: Onaopemipo, 13, defeats older brother, Temiloluwa, to lift U-19 trophy
Next articlePope Francis Demotes U.S. Cardinal Critical of His Reform Agenda

Leave a Reply