Home News Ondo Assembly lifts lawmakers’ suspension

Ondo Assembly lifts lawmakers’ suspension


The Ondo State House of Assembly has lifted the suspension of four lawmakers.

This was was to apparently stop the Speaker of the Assembly, Bamidele Oloyelegun from being imprisoned for contempt of court.

An Akure High Court had last month summoned Speaker Oleyeloogun and three other lawmakers to appear before it show course why they should not be jailed for disobedience to order of the court.

Justice Ademola Bola summoned the Speaker after his judgement which ordered the reinstatement of the four suspended lawmakers was not obeyed.

An appeal by the Assembly Speaker for stay of execution of the orders of the lower court was thrown out by Justice Oyebisi Omoleye of the Court of Appeal sitting in Akure.

Justice Oyebiss ordered the reinstatement of the lawmakers as well as payment of thei entitlements from the day of their unlawful suspension.

The reinstated lawmakers are former Deputy Speaker, Iroju Ogundeji, Hon Favour Tomomewo, Adewinle Adewale Williams, Akinrindibo Leonard.

They were reportedly suspended for refusing to sign the impeachment notice against the Deputy Governor, Hon Agboola Ajayi.

Attempts by the four lawmakers to effect the court rulings were thwarted as they were locked out of plenary and their entitlements not paid.

The Nation

Previous articleActivist, IG Wala Begs Nigerians Not To Circulate A Purported Video Of 5 Bandits Gang R*ping A Teenage Girl
Next articleNo plan to forcefully declare Biafra, says IPOB