Home News Sen. Sekibo, ex-Rep. Yinusa get PDP tickets as ex-Dep.Gov. Gye-wado loses

Sen. Sekibo, ex-Rep. Yinusa get PDP tickets as ex-Dep.Gov. Gye-wado loses


Port Harcourt- Senator George Sekibo on Sunday got elected by the PDP in Rivers East Senatorial District to run for the seat for the third term.

Announcing the result, the Returning Officer, Dr Frank Kpakol, declared Sekibo winner with 406 votes out of the 407 accredited delegates.

In his acceptance speech, Sekibo thanked the delegates and promised to continue to render qualitative representation and service to the people.

Mr Kingsley Amadi, a delegate, expressed satisfaction with the conduct of the election as well as the result.

In Rivers South-East, Chief Olaka Worgu got 299 votes out of 300 delegates accredited to beat Mrs Georgina Tenalo, who got a lone vote.

In Rivers West, where three contestants including Chief Chibudom Nwuche and David Briggs contested, violence marred the election.

In Bode Saadu, Kwara, a former House of Representatives member, Alhaji Yahaya Yinusa, on Sunday won the PDP senatorial ticket for Kwara North, in keenly contested primaries.

Yinusa defeated Alhaji Mazuma by 108 votes to 101, in an exercise conducted at the headquarters of Moro Local Government Area of the state.

Yinusa said the victory was for democracy and all party members.

The candidate said the PDP was a party to beat in the general election.

Meanwhile, Chief Theophilus Oyebiyi, the Kwara North Senatorial Chairman of the PDP, has hailed the sense of maturity exhibited by the two parties especially Mamman that lost the ticket.

Oyebiyi said he had no doubt that the two contestants would work for the victory of the party.

According to him, the future of the party is bright in the state and the country at large.

Also in Akwanga, Nasarawa State, Mr Onje Gye-wado, the former Deputy Gov. of the state, lost the PDP senatorial ticket for the North Senatorial Zone.

He told newsmen after the primaries in Akwanga, that he had accepted defeat and promised to work with the winner of the election for the progress of the party.

Meanwhile Philip Gyunka, the member representing Akwanga South in the House of Assembly who contested alongside four others, got the highest number of votes in the primaries.

Announcing the result, Shamshedeen Maikasuwa, the Returning Officer, said that Gyunka got 89 votes while Onje Gye-wado got 55.

He added that 147 delegates were accredited from the three local government areas that made up the zone.

“Based on the result gotten by the two aspirants, Gyunka is hereby declared the winner and returned elected as the senatorial candidate of PDP to contest the 2015 election,” he said.

Reacting to his victory, Gyunka dedicated it to God and thanked all the delegates for voting for him.

He, therefore, called on other aspirants to cooperate with him to deliver the party in 2015.

The election was conducted in a peaceful atmosphere under heavy security watch. (NAN)

Previous articleMark, Suswam, Mku win PDP senatorial tickets in Benue
Next articlePDP Governorship Primaries: Expect Lagosians’ choice — Ogunlewe

Leave a Reply