Home Top Stories Senate President sends Buhari’s request to confirm 19 RECs, others to Committees...

Senate President sends Buhari’s request to confirm 19 RECs, others to Committees for screening


By Chibuike Nwabuko

Abuja (Sundiata Post) – President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, has referred President Muhammadu Buhari’s request to confirm 19 nominees as Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to its Committee on Electoral Matters.
Those for screening include: Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa – Renewal); Obo O. Effanga (Cross River – Renewal); Alh. Umar Ibrahim (Taraba – Renewal); Dr. Agboke Mutiu Olaleke (Ogun – Renewal); and Prof. Samuel E. Egwu (Kogi – Renewal).
Others are: Onyeka Pauline Ugochi (Imo); Prof. Muhammad Lawal Bashir (Sokoto); Prof. Ayobami Salami (Oyo); Amb. Zango Abdussamadu Abdu (Katsina); Mrs. Queen Elizabeth Agwu (Ebonyi); and Dr. Agundu Oliver Tersoo (Benue).
Also to be screened by the Electoral Matters Committee are: Yomere Gabriel Oritsemlebi (Delta); Prof. Yahaya Makarfi Ibrahim (Kaduna); Dr. Nura Ali (Kano); Agu Sylvia Uchenna (Enugu); Ahmed Yushau Garki (FCT); Barr. Hudu Yunusa (Bauchi); Prof. Uzochukwu Ikemefuna Chijioke (Anambra); and Mohammed B. Nura (Yobe).
The upper chamber also referred the President’s request to confirm Dr. Suleman Agha Afikpo as Commissioner South East zone at the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria to the Committee on Foreign Affairs.  
Also referred was a third request to confirm four nominees as Non-Executive Directors of the Board of the Central Bank of Nigeria. 
The request was sent to the Committee on Banking, Insurance and Other Financial Institution. 
The nominees to appear before the panel for screening are: Prof. Mike Idiahi Obadan (South South); Prof. Justitia Odinakachukwu Nnabuko (South East); Prof. Ummu Ahmed Jalingo (North East); and Mr. Adeola Adetunji (South West). 
The three Committees were all given two weeks to screen the nominees and submit their reports to the upper chamber. 

Previous articleAPC nominates Ibrahim Gobir as new Senate Leader, APC caucus Chairman
Next articleReps want NIN reflected on national identity card

Leave a Reply