World Cup: NFA hails Keshi’s final 23-man list for Brazil 2014

Whatsapp News

ABUJA – The Football Association (NFA) Tuesday in Abuja commended Stephen Keshi, the Head Coach, for selection of final 23- squad for the 2014 World Cup.
 Mike Umeh, the first Vice Chairman of the NFA, told newsmen in Abuja that the football house was surprised at the list because of the pedigree of Keshi who was always eager achieve good result.
“We are surprised about this list; we expected . We have congratulate Keshi because ’s easy draw such a list out of the 30 boys he is having in camp.
 “So, we have congratulate those who made . Those who didn’t it, let them wait for their turn because there is a football revolution in .
 “By the time they finish this one month tournament we have to start preparation for the African Cup of Nations which is coming up in .
 “Thereafter, there are many tournaments we are going in for, so  there is no problem; those dropped and those playing, we can only ,’’ Umeh said.
 Musa Amadu, the Secretary-General of the NFA also praised Keshi for surmounting the pressure of selection especially when the invited 30 players had displayed skillful performances.
“I have nothing to say than kudos for the coach for coming up with the 23- list.
 “I am sure he was immense pressure particularly given the level of eagerness of all the players to the squad for the Brazil 2014 World Cup.
“I am confident that these are players he has chosen that will do proud in Brazil; so, I am quite confident that he has mixed experience with a lot of youth and enthusiasm,’’ Amadu said.
The final list includes: goalkeepers Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide and Chigozie Agbim, while midfielders are Mikel Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, Ramon Azeez, Michael Uchebo and Reuben Gabriel.
 The defenders are Joseph Yobo, Elderson Echiejile, Juwon Oshaniwa, Godfrey Oboabona, Azubuike Egwuekwe, Kenneth Omeruo, Efe Ambrose and Kunle Odunlami.
 Osaze Odemwingie, Ahmed Musa, Shola Ameobi, Emmanuel Emenike, Babatunde Michael, Victor Moses and Uche Nwofor are in the forward line.
 Ejike Uzoenyi, Joel Obi, Nnamdi Oduamadi, Obinna Nsofor, Nosa Igiebor, Sunday Mba and goalkeeper Daniel Akpoenyi were excluded from the final list.
 The final list was submitted June 2, as demanded by the Federation of International Football Association (FIFA). (NAN)